Minister’s night out in once naxalite bastion

K M Dayashankar


JAGTIAL: Gone are the days when the officials and elected representatives were scared of visiting the interior villages even during daytime following the naxalite threat.

Now it is other way round. Minister for Panchayat Raj and Rural Development Errabelli Dayakar Rao along with a team of officials conducted “palle nidra” (night stay) in the Habbipur village of Jagtial rural mandal on Monday night. He stayed overnight in the village amid unprecedented security arrangements and conducted padayatra in the village as an ordinary villager by wearing informal ‘lungi’ and went round the village inquiring about various issues and later conducted a grama sabha at the panchayat office as part of Palle Pragathi programme on Tuesday morning.

Interacting with the villagers, Mr Dayakar Rao said that the Telangana state alone had not stopped pensions and other welfare schemes in spite of economic slowdown following the outbreak of pandemic virus. Stating that the government has been providing river Godavari waters to each and every village in the district, he said that the Kaleshwaram lift irrigation project was completed in a record time and set history in the world.


Appealing the villagers to accord priority for sanitation during this rainy season and avoid the spread of seasonal diseases, he reminded that the Telangana state along was providing 24×7 power supply to the farmers and other sectors and announced the distribution of pensions to the persons who attained the age of 57 years. He participated in the Palle Pragathi programme in Kalleda village.


Later, he participated in various developmental programmes along with Minister for Social Welfare Koppula Eshwar such as laying of road under the PM grama sadak yojana scheme in Bhupathipur village, Rythu vedika in Allipur village in Raikal mandal and visited Bornapalli village of Raikal mandal to participate in various programmes. Jagtial legislator M Sanjay Kumar, Collector G Ravi, ZP chairperson Dava Vasantha, DCMS chairman Srikanth Reddy, ZPTC member Ashwini Jadav, MPP Sandhya Rani, Habbipur sarpanch Rajeshwar Reddy, Kalleda sarpanch Maheshwara Rao and others were also present.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *