Hectic activity in Huzurabad on penultimate day of nominations

K M Dayashankar


KARIMNAGAR: There was hectic activity in Huzurabad town, the penultimate day for the filing of nominations for the by-elections to the Huzurabad assembly segment on Friday, with the candidates belonging to the main political parties and other independents including field assistants filing their nominations.

A total of 61 candidates have filed 92 sets of nominations. Prominent among those who filed their nominations include; BJP leader and former Minister Etala Rajender, TRS candidate Gellu Srinivas, Congress candidate and NSUI state president Balmoori Venkat Narsinga Rao and others. Incidentally, the TDP, which had announced to field its candidate, had changed its stand at the last minute following the directions of TDP national president N Chandrababu Naidu.

Hordes of state and national leaders have arrived in Huzurabad town to support the respective parties, official candidates. TPCC president A Revanth Reddy, CLP leader Batti Vikramarka, senior leaders T Jeevan Reddy, D Sridhar Babu, Ponnam Prabhakar and others had visited the town and participated in a party workers meeting.

Similarly, BJP national leaders G Kishan Reddy, BJP state president Bandi Sanjay Kumar, BJP leader G Vivekanand and others were also present during the filing of nomination by Etala Rajender.  Minister for Finance T Harish Rao was camping in Huzurabad for the electioneering of TRS candidate Gellu Srinivas.

Though three main political parties candidates have filed their nominations, the main fight is likely between BJP candidate Etala Rajender and TRS candidate Gellu Srinivas. Both the BJP and TRS were planning to rope in their star campaigners for the electioneering in the days to come. The BJP had taken up the election as a prestigious issue and leaving no stone unturned to woo the voters.

Similarly, the TRS is also taking advantage of being in power and luring all the supporters of Mr Etala Rajender by announcing several sops. It is also planning to rope in Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao for the electioneering in the segment. Collector RV Karnan and Commissioner of Police V Satyanarayana inspected the smooth process of filing of nominations by guiding the contestants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *