UGC confers autonomous status to SRR government degree college

K M Dayashankar


66-year-old SRR college is first to secure autonomous status in the district


KARIMNAGAR:  The University Grants Commission has conferred autonomous status on the prestigious SRR Government Arts and Science college in Karimnagar town for a period of 10 years (2022-23 to 2031-32).

The 66-year-old college is the first degree college in the integrated Karimnagar district to secure the autonomous status. The SRR college had accolades in entire north Telangana for providing quality education with 105 faculty members, 100 classrooms, 20 laboratories, more than 5,000 students, 17 UG courses and seven PG courses and more than 1,000 research papers by the faculty members.

Disclosing this to newsmen here on Wednesday, college principal K Ramakrishna said that the UGC had granted the autonomous status to the SRR college, affiliated to Kakatiya University, based on the report of the UGC expert committee, which visited the college recently. The autonomous status would help the college receive development grants fromm the UGC as per the norms and also bring suitable changes if any required in academic matters.

He said that the SRR college can introduce several new courses for the benefit of student community and launch several certificates courses and make the students employable. He also said that the college would emerge as research hub in the district and help in providing quality education to the students to meet the requirements of the market.

On this occasion, the college authorities including students, NSS, NCC, alumni and faculty members celebrated the achievement by bursting fireworks and taking out a rally. The college principal thanked Minister for Civil Supplies Gangula Kamalakar, TS Planning board vice chairman B Vinod Kumar, Karimnagar Mp B Vinod Kumar, education commissioner Navin Mittal, SU vice chancellor B Mallesham and others for their support in achieving the autonomous status.

Vice principal B Hima Bindhu, IQAC coordinator Dr Odelu Kumar, Staff club secretary Adepu Srinivas, NCC officer P Raju, NSS programme officers B Suresh, DD Naidu and Narayana, TSKC coordinator P Laxminarasaiah, faculty members Bhaskar, Bikshapathi and others were also present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!